Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. What Would Martin Buber Say?
What Would Martin Buber Say?
Portrait of Martin Buber (1961) from Hatzalamia/NLI collection

What Would Martin Buber Say?

Rabbi David Wolpe, Kinney Zalesne, Dr. Stefan Litt

What Would Martin Buber Say?
Free

The event has passed

I-Thou Relationships in the Digital Age: What Would Martin Buber Say?

NLI USA Signature Speakers Series

 

Rabbi David Wolpe, among the most influential rabbis of our time, together with acclaimed writer and former Microsoft executive, Kinney Zalesne, will explore Martin Buber’s philosophy as it relates to changing norms of social interaction in the digital age. Dr. Stefan Litt, Curator of Humanities at the National Library of Israel, will launch the discussion with highlights from the Library’s Buber collection.

Rabbi David Wolpe is the Senior Rabbi of Sinai Temple in Los Angeles. Author of eight books, Wolpe has been named the most influential Rabbi in America by Newsweek. He has taught at a number of universities, including UCLA, Hunter College, and the Jewish Theological Seminary, and written for The NY Times, Washington Post, The Atlantic, The Jerusalem Post among other newspapers and journals. Wolpe’s most recent book was optioned for a movie by Warner Brothers. Next year he will be a visiting scholar at Harvard Divinity School.

Kinney Zalesne is an American writer, strategist, and former business executive at Microsoft. She was the CEO of a firm specializing in CEO positioning, communications strategy, and thought-leadership development. Zalesne was Counsel to U.S. Attorney General Janet Reno, a White House Fellow with Vice President Al Gore, and the collaborator on the bestselling book Microtrends: The Small Forces Behind Tomorrow's Big Changes. Among her writings, she co-authored an article with Rabbi Wolpe, What Would Martin Buber Think of Zoom?

Dr. Stefan Litt is curator of the Humanities Collection and an archival expert at the National Library of Israel, where he is in charge of European language holdings. He received his Ph.D. in Pre-Modern Jewish History from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and has published on the history of early modern European Jewry and on modern Jewish archival collections.

Tuesday, September 20, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

 

Portrait of Martin Buber (1961) from Hatzalamia/NLI collection