Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. Ukraine's Jewish Printed Books and Its People
Ukraine's Jewish Printed Books and Its People
The book "Law of Israel", printed in 1788 in Lvov (L'viv), Ukraine, from the collection of Kamianets-Podilsky State Historical Museum-Reserve.

Ukraine's Jewish Printed Books and Its People

Nadia Ufimtseva

Ukraine's Jewish Printed Books and Its People
Free

The event has passed

Ukrainian-Jewish Voices

 

There is a belief that books are in fact holy items...
And yet it is people who print them. It is people who sell books, read them, collect them, throw them, steal them, study them and so on. Jewish printed books contain testimonies of a range of events from Ukrainian history, while also serving as companions to everyday life in the country. Handwritten notes scribbled in the margins tell some fascinating stories…

During this lecture, we will explore the history of Jewish printed books in Ukraine, as well the evolution of reading practices over time and the development of modern collections.

Nadia Ufimtseva received her MA in History and Jewish Studies at the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy. She is currently working on her PhD thesis about Jewish printed book collections as a source of the history of the Jewish community of Kamianets-Podilsky in the 1860s –1930s. Her scholarly interests include Jewish material culture in Ukraine, Judaica, and more specifically - Jewish printed books. Nadia is also a Program Director at the Ukrainian Association for Jewish Studies.
Nadia was recently evacuated from Ukraine with her 1-year-old daughter and 70-year-old mother and is now living in Bulgaria.

Help Ukrainian scholars in the field of Jewish Studies in wartime!
To make a donation click here.

Monday, June 6, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Monday June 6th 7 Sivan 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Nadia Ufimtseva

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

The book "Law of Israel", printed in 1788 in Lvov (L'viv), Ukraine, from the collection of Kamianets-Podilsky State Historical Museum-Reserve.