Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. Tu B’Shvat and a Jewish Approach to Climate Change
Tu B’Shvat  and a Jewish Approach to Climate Change
Image: David Mark @ Pixabay

Tu B’Shvat and a Jewish Approach to Climate Change

Rabbi Yonatan Neril

Tu B’Shvat and a Jewish Approach to Climate Change
Free

The event has passed

In the wake of the UN climate conference in Glasgow, Rabbi Yonatan Neril will explore Jewish teachings that relate to climate change and why it is so critical that Jewish communities mobilize to address the climate crisis. The world is facing the greatest challenge it has ever faced and Jewish wisdom has a critical role in addressing it. Religion informs values, which inform environmental behavior. Religion is a fundamental part of many people’s lives and a key motivator. At this moment in history, we need a major infusion of energy to promote faith groups inspiring behavioral change for sustainable living.

Rabbi Yonatan Neril is the founder and director of The Interfaith Center for Sustainable Development (ICSD). Yonatan is the coauthor of the bestselling book "Eco Bible (Volume 1): An Ecological Commentary on Genesis and Exodus", published by ICSD, which shines new light on how the Hebrew Bible and great religious thinkers have urged human care and stewardship of nature for thousands of years as a central message of spiritual wisdom. He has spoken internationally on religion and the environment, including at the UN Environment Assembly in Nairobi, the Fez Climate Conscience Summit and the Parliament of World Religions. He co-organized ten interfaith environmental conferences in Jerusalem, New York City, Washington D.C., and Atlanta. He is the lead author and general editor of three books on Jewish environmental ethics and also co-authored three reports on faith and ecology courses in theological education. Raised in California, Yonatan completed an M.A. and B.A. from Stanford University with a focus on global environmental issues, and received rabbinical ordination in Israel. He lives with his wife, Shana and their two children in Jerusalem.

Monday, 17 January, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Monday January 17th 15 Shevat 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Rabbi Yonatan Neril

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Image: David Mark @ Pixabay