Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. From the Ottoman Empire to Auschwitz
From the Ottoman Empire to Auschwitz
Photo: The Guerson family, Salonica, May 1943, courtesy of the Foundation for the Advancement of Sephardic Studies and Culture, New York.

From the Ottoman Empire to Auschwitz

Prof. Devin E. Naar, University of Washington in Seattle

From the Ottoman Empire to Auschwitz
Free

The event has passed

From the Ottoman Empire to Auschwitz: Sephardic Jews and the Holocaust

 

Although usually understood as a "European" event, the Holocaust also resulted in the murder of tens of thousands of Jews born in the Ottoman Empire. Grappling with the distinctiveness of the experiences of Sephardic Jews, including the center of the Ladino-speaking Sephardic Jewish world in Salonica (Thessaloniki, in today's Greece), compels us to expand the scope of the Holocaust into the Mediterranean basin, to link it to other acts of mass violence in the region such as the Armenian genocide, and to better grasp the full reach and destruction of the Final Solution.

 

Devin E. Naar is the Isaac Alhadeff Professor of Sephardic Studies and associate professor of history and Jewish studies at the University of Washington in Seattle. The great-grandson of a rabbi from Salonica and former Fulbright scholar to Greece, Naar received his PhD in history from Stanford University. He is the author of Jewish Salonica: Between the Ottoman Empire and Modern Greece, winner of a 2016 National Jewish Book Award and the 2017 book prize from the Modern Greek Studies Association. He also serves on the advisory board of the Historical Jewish Press, which is hosted by the National Library of Israel.

 

With thanks to the Samis Foundation, Seattle, Washington

 

Sunday, January 29, 8 pm Israel /7 pm CET /6 pm UK /1 pm EST

Partners

  • Samis

When?

Sunday January 29th 7 Shevat 08:00 - 09:15

Participants

Prof. Devin E. Naar, University of Washington in Seattle

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Photo: The Guerson family, Salonica, May 1943, courtesy of the Foundation for the Advancement of Sephardic Studies and Culture, New York.