Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. Pogroms in the Russian Empire and the Great Departure
Pogroms in the Russian Empire and the Great Departure
Discovery of America, Yohanan Petrovsky-Shtern, 2018, acrylic on canvas, 61x122 cm

Pogroms in the Russian Empire and the Great Departure

Oleksii Chebotarov, Ph.D.

Pogroms in the Russian Empire and the Great Departure
Free

The event has passed

Ukrainian-Jewish Voices

Pogroms in the Russian Empire and the Great Departure: History and Myth of the Role of Violence in Jewish Migrations to the West.

Oleksii Chebotarov, Ph.D., New Europe College, Bucharest

 

Anti-Jewish violence in the Russian Empire and Jewish migration to the West are pillars of Jewish historiography. These two phenomena are typically viewed as closely linked both in historical sources and in scholarly literature. This connection has been debated and criticized but remains the subject of numerous studies. This talk will focus on the critical evaluation of the understanding of migration as a result of the 1881-1883 Pogroms. The lecturer will also present a broader historical overview of the connection between violence and migration and its mythologization in diaspora narratives.

 

Oleksii Chebotarov (Ph.D. 2021, University of St. Gallen) is a Pontica Magna Postdoctoral Research Fellow at the New Europe College, Bucharest. His research interests lie primarily in the fields of Jewish, Ukrainian and Environmental History, Borderlands and Migration studies.

Thursday, June 30,  8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Thursday June 30th 1 Tamuz 08:00 - 09:30

Participants

Oleksii Chebotarov

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Discovery of America, Yohanan Petrovsky-Shtern, 2018, acrylic on canvas, 61x122 cm