Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. You’re Never Alone: a Piyut for Yom Kippur
You’re Never Alone: a Piyut for Yom Kippur
Postcard for Yom Kippur, ca. 1920. NLI collection.

You’re Never Alone: a Piyut for Yom Kippur

Dr. Ariel Zinder, Tel Aviv University

You’re Never Alone: a Piyut for Yom Kippur
Free

A piyyut is a Jewish liturgical poem, designated to be sung, chanted, or recited during religious services. Piyyut first appeared in Eretz Israel around the 6th century A.D. and later spread all across the Jewish world. In this session we will learn about piyyut general, and hear a short introduction to the medieval Hebrew poetry of al-Andalus. Most of the lecture will be dedicated to a joint reading of one poem by Moses Ibn Ezra, written for the Mincha of Yom Kippur. In the poem, we will see how the poet seeks company and comfort, even in days of sin and anguish. The English version of the poem will be distributed to the audience during the online lecture.

Ariel Zinder is a senior lecturer in the department of literature at Tel Aviv University. His research interests include medieval Hebrew poetry, medieval and the interconnections between literature and religion. His next book on the history of Selihot (peninetntial poems) is expected to be published my Magnes Press during 2023.

Zinder is also a published poet and translator. In 2013 he published (with co-translator Lyor Sternberg) the first Hebrew translation of Seamus Heaney’s selected poems. He has also recently published his second book of poetry.

Sunday, October 2,  8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Sunday October 2nd 7 Tishrei 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Ariel Zinder, Tel Aviv University

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Postcard for Yom Kippur, ca. 1920. NLI collection.