Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. SSSHHH! Listening to the Noise of National Libraries Around the World
A Conversation With the National Library of Poland
Krasiński Palace. Photo: A. Savin

A Conversation With the National Library of Poland

The National Library of Israel in Conversation With the National Library of Poland

A Conversation With the National Library of Poland

Event passed

7pm (Jerusalem) / 6pm (Warsaw) / 5pm (London) 12 noon (New York)

 

A conversation between

Oren Weinberg, Director General, National Library of Israel

Dr. Tomasz Makowski, Director General, National Library of Poland

Prof. Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett, Professor Emerita of Performance Studies, New York University; Ronald S. Lauder Chief Curator, Core Exhibition, POLIN Museum of the History of Polish Jews

 

National libraries hold their countries' heritage "in trust" in more ways than one.

 

What does this mean?  In Poland?  In Israel?

 

How are Jewish and Polish writers' identities defined and reflected?

 

How have the national libraries safeguarding their works become "experiences" and not just "repositories"?

 

Join us for a fascinating discussion of these topics and more…

 

"The National Library of Israel in Conversation with the National Library of Poland"

 

Part of the lecture series:

SSSHHH! Listening to the Noise of National Libraries Around the World

 

 

When?

Thursday May 6th 24 Iyar 07:00 - 08:00

Participants

Oren Weinberg, Dr. Tomasz Makowski, Prof. Barbara Kirshenblatt-Gimblett

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For Who?

Everyone

Language

English

Price

Free

Krasiński Palace. Photo: A. Savin