Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. Unchartered History: Leonard Cohen in Sinai
Unchartered History: Leonard Cohen in Sinai
Photo: From the cover of the book "Who by Fire"

Unchartered History: Leonard Cohen in Sinai

The Story of Leonard Cohen’s Journey in the Sinai During the Yom Kippur War

Unchartered History: Leonard Cohen in Sinai
Free

The event has passed

NLI USA Signature Speakers Series and Sami Rohr Prize Writers Showcase Present

A Special Virtual Event at the National Library of Israel

Acclaimed author and journalist Matti Friedman, in conversation with renowned author Nicole Krauss, probes the rarely told account of Leonard Cohen’s experience with Israeli soldiers during the Yom Kippur War. Friedman, a frequent user of the National Library of Israel, will include a window into how primary source material helped him navigate and shape the story of this significant moment in Leonard Cohen’s musical journey.

Monday, May 23, 2022, 8 pm in Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

Matti Friedman is an award-winning journalist and author. His work has appeared in The New York Times, The Atlantic, Tablet, and elsewhere. Matti has won numerous awards for his books, including the Natan Prize and the Canadian Jewish Book Award for Spies of No Country: Secret Lives at the Birth of Israel. His first book, The Aleppo Codex, won the Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature. Who by Fire: Leonard Cohen in the Sinai launched in March 2022.

Nicole Krauss has been hailed as one of America’s most important novelists. She is the author of the award-winning novels Forest Dark, Great House, The History of Love, and Man Walks Into A Room. Her most recent book, To Be A Man, is her first collection of short stories and won the Wingate Literary Prize. Nicole’s fiction has been featured in The New Yorker, The Atlantic, and Harper’s Magazine, among others. In 2021, she received the Sami Rohr Inspiration Award for Fiction.

Partners

  • NLI USA
  • Sami Rohr Prize

When?

Monday May 23rd 22 Iyar 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Matti Friedman, Nicole Krauss

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Photo: From the cover of the book "Who by Fire"