Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. On Translating the Poetry of Lea Goldberg
On Translating the Poetry of Lea Goldberg
Leah Goldberg, Photo by Tuvia Ruebner. Nadav Mann, BITMUNA. From the Tuvia Ruebner collection. The Pritzker Family National Photography Collection, The National Library of Israel

On Translating the Poetry of Lea Goldberg

Prof. Rachel Tzvia Back

On Translating the Poetry of Lea Goldberg
Free

"And will they ever....": Challenges & Choices in Translating the Poetry of Lea Goldberg

On the occasion of the 111th anniversary of Lea Goldberg's birthday

One cannot overstate the significance of Hebrew poet Lea Goldberg (1911-1970) and her powerful impact on the modern Hebrew language as well as Israeli popular culture. From her now iconic poems (transformed into songs) such as "And will they ever come...?" to her children's verse, Goldberg's stunning contributions to the fabric of Israeli life are varied and wide-ranging. On the 111th anniversary of Goldberg's birth, this presentation will provide an overview of the pre-eminent poet, her life and the trajectory of her poetic career. The presentation will then expand on the specific challenges the translator faces in bringing Goldberg's poetry into the English language.

Prof. Rachel Tzvia Back is an English-language Israeli poet, translator and professor of literature. Her poems and verse translations have received awards and recognitions, including the Times Literary Supplement Award, Finalist for the National Poetry Award in Translation and Finalist for the Jewish Book Council Poetry Award. Back's translations of Lea Goldberg in Lea Goldberg: Selected Poetry and Drama were awarded a PEN Translation Grant, and the collection On the Surface of Silence: The Last Poems of Lea Goldberg, was shortlisted for the TLS-Risa Domb/Porjes Award in 2019. Prof. Back lives in the Galilee, where her great great great grandfather settled in the 1830s.

Sunday, May 29, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Sunday May 29th 28 Iyar 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Rachel Tzvia Back

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public, translators

Language

English

Price

Free

Leah Goldberg, Photo by Tuvia Ruebner. Nadav Mann, BITMUNA. From the Tuvia Ruebner collection. The Pritzker Family National Photography Collection, The National Library of Israel