Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. The Secret Jews of Majorca Island
The Secret Jews of Majorca Island
Photo: Dani Rotstein

The Secret Jews of Majorca Island

Dani Rotstein

The Secret Jews of Majorca Island

Event Passed

A story you need to know. A story the world needs to know.

The Spanish Island of Majorca is known for its beach resorts, limestone mountains, and being home to tennis celebrity Rafa Nadal. But Majorca holds a secret, never discussed in most travel guides.

During the Inquisition, the Crypto-Jews or Chuetas publicly professed Catholicism while privately adhering to Judaism. Still, hundreds of Jews were murdered and only 15 families survived.

Join guide Dani Rotstein on a special virtual tour of Majorca’s history and its lessons for all Jews today.

Dani Rotstein moved from New Jersey to the island of Majorca, Spain, in 2014. There, he learned of the taboo history of the Conversos or Chuetas of the island. In 2018, he founded Limud Mallorca and has run over 50 successful events promoting diversity and inclusion in the small, yet growing, Jewish community.

Monday, August 9, 8 pm Israel time / 6 pm London time / 1 pm EST

When?

Monday August 9th 1 Elul 08:00 - 09:00

Lecturer

Dani Rotstein

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For Who?

Researchers, General Public

Language

English

Price

Free

Photo: Dani Rotstein