Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. Insiders/Outsiders: Jewish Artists in Britain
Insiders/Outsiders: Jewish Artists in Britain
Picture: Josef Herman, Refugees, c.1941. Copyright Josef Herman Estate. With kind permission Ben Uri Collection.

Insiders/Outsiders: Jewish Artists in Britain

Monica Bohm-Duchen

Insiders/Outsiders: Jewish Artists in Britain
Free

Insiders/Outsiders: Jewish Artists in Britain from the Nineteenth Century to the Present Day

Series: In Her Majesty's Kingdom - Celebrating the Rich History of Anglo-Jewry

 

This illustrated lecture by London-based art historian Monica Bohm-Duchen will examine the significant contribution made to British visual culture by artists of Jewish origin, against a background of increasing emancipation and assimilation from the nineteenth century onwards. The main focus will be on the early twentieth century generation of artists (among them Jacob Epstein, David Bomberg and Mark Gertler) who came from Yiddish-speaking Russian and Eastern European immigrant families and on those (such as Josef Herman, Lucian Freud and Frank Auerbach) who found refuge in Britain from Nazism in the 1930s. The lecture will conclude with a discussion of UK-based artists active today whose work grapples with the still complex issue of Jewish identity in the contemporary world.

Monica Bohm-Duchen is a London-based independent writer, lecturer, and curator. The institutions she has worked for include the Courtauld Institute of Art, Sotheby’s Institute of Art, Tate, the National Gallery, the Royal Academy of Arts and the University of London. The exhibitions she has curated or co-curated include Art in Exile in Great Britain 1933-1945; Chagall to Kitaj: Jewish Experience in 20th Century Art; After Auschwitz: Responses to the Holocaust in Contemporary Art, Rubies and Rebels: Jewish Female Identity in Contemporary British Art and Charlotte Salomon: Life? Or Theatre?. She is the founding director of Insiders/Outsiders, an ongoing celebration of the contribution of refugees from Nazi Europe to British culture and contributing editor of its companion volume (Insiders/Outsiders – Lund Humphries).

 

Sunday, August 21, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Sunday August 21st 24 Av 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Monica Bohm-Duchen

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Picture: Josef Herman, Refugees, c.1941. Copyright Josef Herman Estate. With kind permission Ben Uri Collection.