Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. Israel in the British Literary Imagination
Israel in the British Literary Imagination
Image: First edition of Ulysses by James Joyce, published by Paris-Shakespeare, 1922. WikiCommons

Israel in the British Literary Imagination

Daniel Taub

Israel in the British Literary Imagination
Free

Series: In Her Majesty's Kingdom - Celebrating the Rich History of Anglo-Jewry

 

The notion of Jewish state in Israel has captured the imagination of British writers - for better and for worse - for centuries. In this session we will look at how conceptions of Israel have changed over time, and ask whether these tell us more about the Jewish state they are describing or the authors who are writing them.

Daniel Taub is an Israeli diplomat and international lawyer. He served as the Israeli Ambassador to the United Kingdom (2011- 2015) and as Director of Strategy and Planning of the Yad Hanadiv (Rothschild) foundation (2015-2021). He has held a wide variety of legal and diplomatic posts and has represented Israel in many international negotiations. He holds degrees in English Literature from University College, Oxford; international law from  University College, London; and public administration from Harvard University's Kennedy School of Government.

 

Sunday, August 28, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Sunday August 28th 1 Elul 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Daniel Taub

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Image: First edition of Ulysses by James Joyce, published by Paris-Shakespeare, 1922. WikiCommons