Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. The Hazon Ish Letters to Zvi Yehuda
The Hazon Ish Letters to Zvi Yehuda
National Library of Israel

The Hazon Ish Letters to Zvi Yehuda

Moderated by Rachel Yehuda

The Hazon Ish Letters to Zvi Yehuda
Free of charge

The event has passed

The Hazon Ish Letters to Zvi Yehuda: Teacher, Student and Legacy

Hazon Ish (Rabbi Avraham Yeshaya Karelitz, 1878–1953), one of the most influential rabbis of the 20th century, wrote letters to his student Rabbi Zvi Yehuda during the 1940s. The event marks the donation of the letters to the National Library by Hassia Yehuda, Rabbi Yehuda’s widow, and his children Rachel Yehuda, Talli Yehuda Rosenbaum, and Gil Yehuda.

Moderator: Rachel Yehuda.

Prof. Rachel Yehuda is Professor and Vice Chair of Psychiatry at the Mount Sinai School of Medicine.

Marc Shapiro: “Letters from the Heart: The Hazon Ish Correspondence with Zvi Yehuda.”

Prof. Marc B. Shapiro holds the Weinberg Chair in Judaic Studies at the University of Scranton, Pennsylvania.

Benjamin Brown: “The Hazon Ish and the Youth.”

Prof. Benjamin Brown is a professor of Jewish Thought at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Gil Yehuda: “The Recipient: Rabbi Zvi Yehuda and the Value of Primary Sources.”

Gil Yehuda is an open-source technology professional and executive at US Bank.

Sunday, October 17, 8 pm Israel time / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Sunday October 17th 11 Cheshvan 08:00 - 10:00

Participants

Prof. Rachel Yehuda, Prof. Marc B. Shapiro, Prof. Benjamin Brown, Gil Yehuda

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For Whom?

General Public, Historians, Archivists

Language

English

Price

Free of charge

National Library of Israel