Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. Conversations With Israeli Authors: Dorit Rabinyan
Conversations With Israeli Authors: Dorit Rabinyan
Dorit Rabinyan. Photo by Sharon Deri

Conversations With Israeli Authors: Dorit Rabinyan

Dorit Rabinyan in conversation with Yuval Avivi

Conversations With Israeli Authors: Dorit Rabinyan
Free

The event has passed

Hebrew Book Month at the National Library of Israel includes a series of meetings with famous Israeli authors whose works have been translated into English and other languages. During the month of ​June, you will have the opportunity to not only meet but also engage with leading contemporary Israeli writers. This series of meetings is moderated by the prominent Israeli journalist and literary critic Yuval Avivi.

Join us for the third meeting of our series – a conversation with Dorit Rabinyan, June 26, 2022

 

Dorit Rabinyan is an acclaimed Israeli author of Jewish-Iranian descent. She has been acknowledged as an outstanding writer since the publication of her first novel at the age of 22. Her richly textured language, acute observations and sense of empathy have gained her wide readership in Israel and beyond. Her critique of women’s marginalization is central to her first two novels, whose main characters are Mizrahi women. The first novel, “Persian Brides” (Canongate), depicts an imaginary return to her Jewish/Persian roots in Iran while the second, “A Strand of a Thousand Pearls” (Random House), looks at Mizrahi integration into Israeli society.
Her third novel, “All the Rivers” (Random House), takes her female character to the heart of the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. This book became an international best seller and was awarded the prestigious Bernstein Prize. In January 2016, “All the Rivers” became the focus of a political scandal in Israel when the Ministry of Education banned the book from the high school curriculum.

Dorit Rabinyan is the recipient of the Vinner Prize, the ACUM Award, the Prime Minister’s Prize and the Jewish Wingate Quarterly Award (London); her novels have been translated into more than twenty languages worldwide.

 

Sunday, June 26,  8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Sunday June 26th 27 Sivan 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Dorit Rabinyan and Yuval Avivi

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Dorit Rabinyan. Photo by Sharon Deri