Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. An Algerian Sefer Torah from 1840
An Algerian Sefer Torah from 1840
Photo of the Sefer Torah taken by Professor Paul Mirecki

An Algerian Sefer Torah from 1840

Discovering a Sefer Torah taken in 1840 from the synagogue in Medea, Algeria

An Algerian Sefer Torah from 1840

Event passed

With Prof. Dr. Paul Mirecki, emeritus professor of Religious Studies and Jewish Studies at the University of Kansas (USA).

Prof. Mirecki has conserved and edited papyrus and vellum manuscripts in major collections in England, Ireland, Germany and the USA. In this lecture he will recount his experience in discovering a Sefer Torah taken in 1840 from the synagogue in Medea, Algeria and now divided between the rare books collections of the University of Kansas (USA) and Chateau Chantilly (France). Detailed photographs are included.

7 pm Israel time, 5 pm London time, 12 pm EST

 

When?

Monday June 14th 4 Tamuz 07:00 - 08:00

Lecturer

Dr. Paul Mirecki

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For Who?

Researchers, Everyone

Language

English

Price

Free

Photo of the Sefer Torah taken by Professor Paul Mirecki