Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. A Rendezvous with Walt Whitman
A Rendezvous with Walt Whitman
Walt Whitman portrait. Public Domain

A Rendezvous with Walt Whitman

Dr. Fred Sugarman, Dr. Stefan Litt

A Rendezvous with Walt Whitman
Free

A Rendezvous with Walt Whitman and the National Library of Israel

On the anniversary of Walt Whitman’s birthday, NLI brings you Dr. Fred Sugarman, a leading expert in 19th century American Literature, and Dr. Stefan Litt, NLI’s Curator of Humanities, to shed light on this larger-than-life figure whose influential work now stands as a testimony to what is America. Dr. Sugarman will unpack some of Whitman’s most famous work and Dr. Litt will share highlights from NLI’s Whitman collection.

Dr. Fred Sugarman is Associate Dean at Yeshiva College of Yeshiva University, where he has taught Walt Whitman for many years. Dr. Sugarman received his Ph.D. in 19th century American literature from Columbia University and taught at Bar-Ilan University from 1982-1984. He has published a number of articles on American Jewish life.

Dr. Stefan Litt is curator of the Humanities Collection and an archival expert at the National Library of Israel, where he is in charge of European language holdings. He received his Ph.D. in Pre-Modern Jewish History from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Dr. Litt has published on the history of early modern European Jewry and on modern Jewish archival collections.

Tuesday, May 31, 2022, 8:00 pm in Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Tuesday May 31st 1 Sivan 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Dr. Fred Sugarman, Dr. Stefan Litt

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public

Language

English

Price

Free

Walt Whitman portrait. Public Domain