Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. The Blood Libel in Modern Eastern Europe
The Blood Libel in Modern Eastern Europe
Poster by the propaganda service of the Volunteer Army, the Osvag, "Sacrifice to the International", Wikicommons

The Blood Libel in Modern Eastern Europe

Dr. Elissa Bemporad

The Blood Libel in Modern Eastern Europe
Free of charge

Based on memoirs, the press, and secret police reports from the archives and libraries of Kyiv, Lviv, Vilnius, Jerusalem, Washington D.C., and New York City, this talk explores the afterlife of one of the most extreme manifestations of tsarist antisemitism— the blood libel—in the Soviet Union, from the Revolution of 1917 to the early 1960s.

By tracing the persistence and permutation of the blood libel in the Soviet Union throughout the interwar period and into the postwar period, the talk sheds new light on the interplay between official and popular antisemitism, as well as on the ever-changing and at times ambivalent relationship between the state and the Jewish minority group in modern times. 

Elissa Bemporad is Professor of History and Jerry and William Ungar Chair in Eastern European Jewish History and the Holocaust at Queens College and the Graduate Center - CUNY. 

Sunday, September 5th, 8 pm Israel time / 6 pm London time / 1 pm EST

When?

Sunday October 3rd 27 Tishrei 08:00 - 09:30

Participants

Dr. Elissa Bemporad

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For Whom?

Historians, General Public

Language

English

Price

Free of charge

Poster by the propaganda service of the Volunteer Army, the Osvag, "Sacrifice to the International", Wikicommons