Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

  1. Home
  2. Visit
  3. Events at the National Library of Israel
  4. Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema
Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema
Image: Close up Ragged Jewish Badge Hands Man @ Shutterstock

Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema

Rich Brownstein

Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema
Free

Auschwitz in Film: 75 Years of Holocaust Cinema

Marking International Holocaust Remembrance Day (January 27)

As Elie Wiesel famously wrote about Holocaust films, “Auschwitz is something else, always something else.” How has narrative film succeeded and failed the memory of the deadliest and most documented place on earth? From The Day the Clown Cried (1972) to Sophie’s Choice (1982), Schindler’s List (1993), Life Is Beautiful (1997), The Grey Zone (2001), The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas (2008), to Son of Saul (2015), what can be learned from these representations and many others?

Rich Brownstein, an expert on the history and use of Holocaust films.

After a career in Hollywood, Rich Brownstein has become a leading international expert concerning the history and use of Holocaust films. Since 2014, he has lectured for Yad Vashem’s International School for Holocaust Studies in Jerusalem, specializing in the use of Holocaust film history and pedagogy. Brownstein is the author of Holocaust Cinema Complete: A History and Analysis of 400 Films, with a Teaching Guide, 2021, McFarland Press.

Monday, 24 January, 8 pm Israel / 7 pm CET / 6 pm UK / 1 pm EST

When?

Monday January 24th 22 Shevat 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Rich Brownstein

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For whom?

General public, Researchers

Language

English

Price

Free

Image: Close up Ragged Jewish Badge Hands Man @ Shutterstock