Cookies

The National Library of Israel website uses cookies to improve your browsing experience. Continued use of the website constitutes consent to the use of cookies. For more information, please see our privacy policy

Adventures in Translating
Sorting books before they are moved to the new Library building in Givat Ram, 1960. Photo: David Haris

Adventures in Translating

Hillel Halkin in conversation with Akin Ajayi, co-editor, Tel Aviv Review of Books

Adventures in Translating

Event Passed

What is the worth of translation and the translator, today? Translation is not merely about conveying a text from one language to another. Still, what are the markers that the translator needs in negotiating cultural, social, and literary sensibilities in the course of their work? How do they shoulder the task of being “witnesses to, and facilitators of, the survival of an ancient heritage”?

Drawing from more than a half a century of reading and writing (and of learning all the while), the distinguished translator and polymath Hillel Halkin will expound on the responsibility of the translator working with the Hebrew language today—including the intriguing challenge of the “translator’s paradox.”

Hillel Halkin will be conversing with Akin Ajayi, a British-Nigerian-Israeli writer, co-founder of the Tel Aviv Review of Books.

8pm Israel time / 6pm London time / 1pm EST

When?

Sunday August 1st 23 Av 08:00 - 09:00

Participants

Hillel Halkin, Akin Ajayi

Where?

Online Zoom Event Map

For Who?

Translators, Writers, General Public

Language

English

Price

Free

Sorting books before they are moved to the new Library building in Givat Ram, 1960. Photo: David Haris